Capital: Helsinki (564 474)

Area: 338.424 km²

Population: 5.428.130

Ethnic groups: Finnish 93 %, Swedish 6 %, other 1 %

Language: official languages of Finland are Finnish and Swedish

Religion: there are presently two state churches: the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland and the Finnish Orthodox Church. Other religions practiced include Islam and Judaism.

Neighboring countries: Norway, Sweden, Russia

Climate: July temperatures average 13 to 17°C, February is coldest month, with temperatures from – 22 to -3°C.

Time zone: UTC/GMT + 3 hours

National currency: euro

Joined the European union: 1995

Visa: EU citizens do not require a visa

Travel documents: if you are an EU national , you do not need to show your national ID card or passport when you are travelling from one border-free Schengen EU country to another. It is still always highly recommended to take a passport or ID card with you, so you can prove your identity if needed.