Capital: Tallinn 406.059 ab.

Area: 45.227 km2

Population: 1.315.819

Ethnic groups: Estonians 69,70 %, Russians 24,80 %, Ukrainians 2,00 %, others 3,50 %

Language: Estonian is the official language of Estonia, it belongs to the Finnish branch of the Uralic language family.

Religion: Estonia, although nominally a Protestant country, is one of the least religious countries in world, with only 14% of the population declaring religion an important part of their life.

Neighboring countries: Latvia, Russia

Climate: the average annual temperature is 5.2 °C . The average temperature in February, is −5.7 °C , in July, is 16.4 °C .

Time zone: UTC + 2 hours.

National currency: the euro (from 1 January 2011)

Joined the European union: 1 May 2004

Visa: EU citizens do not require a visa

Travel documents: Estonia joined Schengen on 21st Dec 2007. If you are an EU national , you do not need to show your national ID card or passport when you are travelling from one border-free Schengen EU country to another. It is still always highly recommended to take a passport or ID card with you, so you can prove your identity if needed.